Monday, May 2, 2011


French and German are the official languages of Luxembourg. The spoken language of the majority of the 400,000 population is Luxembourgish. The 1984 Language Act determines that French is the only language of legislation, and that French, German as well as Luxembourgish can be used for administrative or judicial purposes. Official documents are usually not available in Luxembourgish. The largest non-Luxembourgish community is the Portuguese.

No comments:

Post a Comment